Skip to content

Peach Pie to Die For

August 12, 2009

Peach

I’m really not so much as giving you a recipe as telling you to make this pie.

Back in June I bought a copy of Gourmet magazine to read on a plane, and I was enchanted the minute I read the cover: “Honey Caramel Peach Pie,” it said. Honey? Caramel? Peach? Pie? I set the magazine aside, to wait for peach season.

Peach season is here; it’s been here for a while, and I’ve made this pie, and it’s all I hoped it would be. It was also my first gluten-free baking venture. I’ve been a little nervous about entering the world of gluten-free baking – it seemed so intimidating, what with its multitudes of flours and xanthan gum and extra-wet doughs. But Jill didn’t steer me wrong. I used this wonderful crust recipe of hers, and it was flaky and lovely, and nearly as easy to work with as traditional gluten-containing doughs. If you need to eat gluten-free, I absolutely recommend using it.

The recipe for the pie itself is here. The flavor of the honey caramel adds a subtle, buttery sweetness to the ripe fruit. If you didn’t know it was there, you might not guess – it simply tastes like the best peach pie you’ve ever had.

It’s raining tonight in Portland, and the first whiffs of fall are in the air, so I’m feeling the approaching shift in the season rather acutely tonight. We’ll have the fruits of summer with us for a little bit longer…let’s savor the next few weeks. Preferably with a slice of the best-ever peach pie in hand.

Peach pie

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 1:48 am

    I, too, was enchanted by this pie recipe. Just found your blog–great stuff!

Leave a Reply

