Skip to content

Another Quinoa Salad

May 20, 2009

Black bean and quinoa salad

You can see in the photo that I used a combination of red and white quinoa for this salad. My grocery store just started carrying red quinoa in their bulk section, so this is my first time trying it. I love it! It has a slightly toothier texture than white quinoa. I think the combination of the two is beautiful.

So, can you tell I love quinoa yet? Can you tell I love quinoa and beans? They marry so nicely together. The Inca thought so too, so I must be right. They were very wise. They were masters of architecture.

This is my second-favorite quinoa salad. I have already shared my favorite with you. But this is a very close second. The dressing gives a sweet, smoky, spicy flair to the entire dish, and the roasted pepitas add their deeply nutty flavor and some crunch. The salad makes a delicious and refreshingly different burrito filling, along with some cheese, or not, shredded lettuce or cabbage, and salsa, especially roasted tomato salsa. Someday, when tomato season has arrived, I will share a recipe for roasted tomato salsa with you. But that day is yet far off. For now, you will have to improvise, or buy your salsa.

Also, you could scoop this salad up with chips and eat it that way. I have done that many times. Or you could be a health rock star and serve it over greens. I must admit that I have never done that.

Mostly, I use it to fill burritos.

If you do that, I promise you won’t ever regret it.

Black Bean and Quinoa Salad with Grilled Jalapenos

For the salad:
1 and ½ cups cooked black beans (½ cup dried)
2 cups cooked quinoa (2/3 cup dried)
½ red onion, diced
1 avocado, diced
1 jalapeno

½ of this recipe

For the dressing:
¼ cup lime juice (about 2 limes)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 dried chipotle pepper, soaked for 15 minutes in boiling water and then drained
½ teaspoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons agave nectar or honey
Pinch salt

1. Roast the jalapeno pepper. You can do this one of two ways. On a gas stove: turn the flame to medium and, with tongs, hold the pepper over the flame until blackened, turning so that it blackens on all sides. In the oven: position a rack at the highest level. Turn your broiler on and place the pepper on the rack, turning occasionally (with tongs!) until it is black and blistered on all sides. Once the pepper is black, place in a small paper (or plastic) bag for 10 to 15 minutes. This will allow the pepper to sweat and the blackened skin will slip off easier. After this resting period is over, remove the pepper from the bag and gently scrape the blackened skin off with the dull side of your knife. Mince, either removing the seeds and membranes or not based on your personal tolerance for spiciness.

2. In a mixing bowl, combine the black beans, quinoa, red onion, avocado, and minced jalapeno, tossing well to combine. If you are going to serve the salad immediately, add the pepitas; otherwise, wait to do so until you are about to eat, so that they don’t become soft.

3. Combine the lime juice, olive oil, chipotle pepper, cumin and salt in the jar of a blender (or you can use your immersion blender with its jar.) Blend until smooth. Toss the dressing with the salad and serve, or make a burrito.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annmarie permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:53 am

    Oh, this is perfect! I was looking for a good vegan quinoa salad to make in quantity (to feed 100+), and this will be great. Maybe this AND the other one.

  2. Ineke permalink
    November 9, 2009 11:30 pm

    I finally made this one, and I must say that I prefer it over the other quinoa salad 🙂 The one with the chickpeas is very similar to a salad I like to make with couscous, so while awesome, it’s not such a surprise as this one!
    The roasted pepitas make all the difference! To bad I couldn’t get my hands on a roasted chipotle pepper, but apart from that I managed to stick to the recipe. The black beans took ages to cook though….

Trackbacks

  1. Kara’s Quinoa Salad « The Brassica Diaries

Leave a comment