Skip to content

Welcome to the World, Baby Blog

March 16, 2009

So after a bit of mulling over a particular question I decided that the answer was yes, yes, the world needed another food blog, one with my recipes and ideas. Here, wide world of the internet, she is.

My food life has unfolded in an unlikely direction, or at least, a direction that would have seemed entirely unlikely ten or fifteen years ago. As a child, I was an extraordinarily picky eater. I’ll tell you how picky: I wouldn’t even eat mac ‘n’ cheese. Isn’t that the prototypical picky child food? Not even the especially targeted-at-kids kind out of the box. I didn’t touch it until I was at least sixteen or so, maybe seventeen.

When a doctor diagnosed me with food intolerances at nineteen I was crushed. My favorite foods, gone in a blink. It was change-or-die time, or at least change-or-live-with-chronic-excruciating-migraines time. So, by force and necessity, I changed. And lo, a whole world of incredible culinary adventures opened up before my eyes and taste buds. Irony of ironies: that world is so much bigger and richer than the tiny picky niche I had carved out for myself before food allergies, when I could eat anything in the world but somehow never did.

So after college I attended the wonderful chef’s training program at The Natural Gourmet Institute for Food and Healing (formerly The Natural Gourmet Cookery School—I miss the old name), a natural-foods-based culinary school with a decidedly hippie bent. There my food world opened up even further, and whether I attribute that more to spending four months in the culinary mecca of New York City or cooking school itself is hard to say. I credit Natural Gourmet with my love of kale—I could hardly imagine my life without it, now!—and New York for teaching me that even a simple falafel could be more than I ever imagined.

I am a vegetarian of over thirteen years, and spent five of those years (the college years, of course) as a vegan. Although veganism is no longer sustainable for me, I learned about food during those years and don’t regret a minute of them. I plan to write a lot about my views on food politics and culture here, as well as more about picky eating, food allergies and intolerances, and food and healing.

I believe strongly that food should be both health-supportive and great-tasting: we should settle for nothing less. My cooking style is characterized by layers of intense, assertive flavors. Subtlety, much though I admire it others, is simply not my strong suit, in cooking or in life. I look forward to sharing vibrant, flavorful, health-promoting vegetarian recipes with you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 9:02 am

    Hey girl… it took me a while to find your “Comment” link, but here it is… I’m excited to watch your blog develop. The world ALWAYS needs more vegan blogs!! Love it!!

    • secretnatasha permalink*
      March 16, 2009 12:05 pm

      Ha ha, well, this is far from a vegan blog, but there should be quite a few vegan recipes on here! Hope you enjoy it anyway!

  2. March 16, 2009 9:39 am

    dude… so excited for this.

Leave a Reply

